I’m No Artist…

16 Aug

I’m no artist by any means. But, I thought it would be fun to create textile prints for some of the furniture I plan to upholster. I didn’t come up with this idea off the top of my head. There is a website called Spoonflower.com, where you can upload an image and they will print that image on fabric. It’s sort of like Ebay for fabric, in that anyone can set up and hop on Spoonflower and sell their fabrics. I’m not sure what percentage of the sale Spoonflower gets, but it sure is a creative way to add personality to your home decor projects.

One of the drawbacks is that you can only upload certain image types, which are mainly created using a graphics program. So ,me being me (whatever that means) I found an inexpensive application called ArtRage that has some powerful drawing and painting tools that I can use to create images to upload to Spoonflower.

Last night a spent an hour or so going through the basic tutorial which used the tracing to tool to create painting of a rose. The application, has a lot of bells and whistles that I have to learn.  Overall I really liked this application as it can help a non-artist like me create useful ‘art’.  I’m excited about doing some abstract images which will translate in to some funky fabrics 🙂

Check out my rose (I use that term loosely) that I created.  I really doesn’t look like much, but I’m kind proud of it 🙂

Have you heard of Spoonflower.com? What would you design fabric for? Home decor, clothing, gifts?

Enhanced by Zemanta

4 Responses to “I’m No Artist…”

  1. chicquero August 16, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    yes, you are

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We are OPEN!! Burlap & Biscuits Home Decor – Killeen | Burlap & Biscuits …the store - August 18, 2011

    […] I’m No Artist… (natashawilliams.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. $25 for $55 Worth of Home Décor Fabric at Loomcraft in Vernon Hills » Get your daily Groupon deals - August 20, 2011

    […] I’m No Artist… […]

Leave a comment