‘Newlyweds’ in Nassau, The Bahamas

24 Oct

Dr. B trying out a Cuban cigar.

This weekend my husband and I took a short vacation to Nassau, The Bahamas. What a hugely fantastic time we had!  My last trip to  Nassau was in 2006, a day-long stop on a 4-day Caribbean cruise.  I fell in love with this island nation the minute I set foot on its soil.  I grew up at the beach, and so I have a deep love for all things tropical.  One of my uncles told me last Christmas that a family member who is researching our family tree, mentioned that we have descendents from the islands.  I would not be surprised if I in fact my family roots stem from the Bahamas.  Both my husband’s mom and dad are from the Bahamas.  So you see, it was like going home for us.

After we arrived, we stumbled across the 16th annual International Cultural Festival!!  If you’re not familiar with The Bahamas, then you might not know that the island is home to Afro-Bahamians (black), Euro-Bahamians (white) and Indo-Bahamians (Asian/Indian) populations.  The internationally diverse history of The Bahamas, makes for eye-opening and enriching experience. Additionally there is A sprinkling of Cubans, Spanish, Scottish, and Greeks!  The festival exists to strengthened the bond between the Bahamians and its international residents:

The Festival fosters friendly relations and understanding between Bahamians and the international resident community. This high quality organic experience that emerged from members of the community has become an international signature event that serves to demonstrate just how diverse and cosmopolitan The Bahamas has become.

The Festival also provides a global platform for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Immigration to encourage foreign countries to consider staging food and cultural weeks as well as host more trade missions to The Bahamas. Strategically, this makes The Bahamas a far more interesting and sophisticated place to live and visit by broadening and deepening the vacation experience and quality of life that’s available here.

It’s literally one big party! This was by far the best cultural/arts festival I have ever been to!  The atmosphere was great, everyone was having a good time.  We met tons of great people, ate too much great tasting food, and indulged in lots of Kalik (Bahamanian beer).  I am definitely looking forward to going back.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 Responses to “‘Newlyweds’ in Nassau, The Bahamas”

  1. Cindy October 24, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    You guys are too cute. I love it!

    • Cindy October 24, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

      Oh, and this has definitely persuaded me to put Nassau at the top of our list when we start shopping for last-minute deals in January. 🙂

      • Natasha Williams October 24, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

        I’m sure you would love it. Definitely research when they have the Junkanoo festival, that would be a great time to go.

  2. MrsTDJ October 24, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Sounds like a great trip! Nassau was a port during a cruise I took a few years ago. I swore that I’d go back one day, but I haven’t yet. It’s definitely on the list!

  3. Newlyweds Guide Francesca November 8, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Lucky you! My people are from an island, so I know how strong the beach’s call is. Glad to hear you had so much fun. I’m a big fan of the Bahamas myself.

Leave a Reply

