Marriage is Like Running

3 Oct

As long as I can remember I’ve been a runner.  As a child I loved running and racing, and now as an adult I couldn’t imagine enjoying anything more except for being married.  Running is hard, very hard a times.  It’s much more mental for me than most would believe.  The night before, I mentally set precedence for the mileage I will run the next day.  If I’m feeling tired, then I mentally calculate how I will feel the next day during my run, and thus set a mileage goal.  The same goes with being married.  I decide if I want to get an attitude about something, or if I want to approach my husband as an adult and tell him what’s bothering me…it’s all mental.

Sometimes, I will have my mind-set on something, like what I think we should or shouldn’t do as a couple.  Then a funny thing will happen, just like during a run I realize, I have sold myself short.  Instead of only doing 3 miles, I feel good enough to continue and push through to 5 miles.  Instead of being one tracked and thinking I know best all the time, I realize I have actually limited our growth as a couple because I was too stubborn to see past me.  During those times, I reset my thinking to that which is essential to our goals as a couple and my growth as a wife.

So you see, for me running/marriage are both very similar.   They are repetitive, pleasurable, and with practice you get better over time.  Running/marriage feel great on good days, sometimes painful on those occasional ‘not so good’ days, and just right on those ‘in between’ days.  But I stay focused and continue to progress as a wife and as a runner, because they are a part of who I am, what I love, and what I believe in.

Enhanced by ZemantaWhat aspect of your life do you believe is similar to marriage?
2 Responses to “Marriage is Like Running”

  1. melissashipman October 3, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Hi there! I’m a newlywed blogger, and a runner. I enjoyed stumbling upon your blog, as we seem to have those things in common. And I agree with some of your points about running being similar to marriage.
    We’ve only been married a couple months, so I’m sure I’ll find more and more aspects of my “old” life that will carry over and serve me well.
    Check out my blog, too!

  2. Newlyweds Guide Francesca October 4, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    Excellent comparison. I particularly like your point about how it really is all mental. It is. Thanks for putting this into words.

Leave a Reply

