Weighing In On Health, Fitness, and Nutrition after Before the Wedding

2 Mar

Physical Fitness

Image by Justin Liew via Flickr

Yesterday I read the article Get Fat and I’m Dumping You.  The article discusses the idea of divorcing your spouse if they gained weight after marriage (I’ll save that particular topic for another day :-).  I’m more interested in one of the other main points the author raised, which was that couples should be in agreement when it comes to diet health and fitness:

Most couples fight about money, sex, chores and children, but weight often factors into those issues. And just like a couple needs to be in tune with how they’ll raise their children and spend or save their money, they probably need to be like-minded when it comes to diet, health and fitness.

I couldn’t agree more.  Dr. B and I met on Match.com and our profile both listed health and fitness as our interests.  I have always been more attracted to men that worked out and took care of themselves.  That’s not to say I would not have married a man who wasn’t into health and fitness, but I was aware that if I did marry a man who wasn’t, than we would not share an interest in something that I am passionate about – which for me is not an ideal situation.  Although Dr. B and I didn’t have a health discussion before we were married, we both just kind of agreed about continuing our healthy lifestyles.

But, the idea of discussing health, fitness and nutrition up front and coming to an “agreement” about what type of lifestyle you would like to lead as a couple just makes a lot of sense to me.  I want to live a long prosperous life with Dr. B, we both know we won’t achieve that if we don’t take care of ourselves.  That means working out at least 5 days a week, eating healthy, and going to the doctor for routine check-ups and physicals.  If you don’t have you health, what do you have?  As the article says, engaged couples discuss money, children, and sex but, not health and nutrition.  Shame on us for not realizing how our health is to a healthy marriage.

Do you and your husband have the same mindset when it comes to health and fitness?  Did you discuss this topic before you were married, and has the topic health, fitness, nutrition of weight been a topic of debate between you?

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 Responses to “Weighing In On Health, Fitness, and Nutrition after Before the Wedding”

  1. Cindy March 2, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Matt and I really don’t. Then again, I don’t expect that many people have the same passion for it that I do. He goes to the gym, eats what I make for him, and that’s about the extent of it, but he’s working on it.

    I’ve told him openly and candidly that I am still attracted to him (and express this on more levels than just with words) but would be even more attracted if he were a bit fitter. I don’t think that’s horrible to say. I try to be encouraging in his desire to get in better shape.

    I don’t press him about how much time he spends at the gym. I am just glad he’s going. I’m even teaching classes at his gym now so he said he feels a little more obligated to work out so if people find out he’s my husband he “won’t make me look bad.”

  2. Newlyweds Guide Francesca March 2, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    This is great advice, and I’m certain most couples don’t think about discussing health and fitness before the big day.

  3. thehealthywife March 15, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Wow so interesting! And so true! Im glad were likeminded about health, but were on different wave lengths about exercise. Luck for H hes naturally slim haha!

Leave a Reply

