What Makes You Feel Vulnerable?

27 Dec

On the way home from Jacksonville Dr. B and I were watching The Power of Vulnerability a Ted Talk by Brene Brown who is a researcher and professor at the University of Houston.  Dr. Brown has spent over 10 years studying vulnerability, courage, authenticity and shame.

In the Ted talk Dr. Brown speaks about how we learn to embrace our vulnerabilities and imperfections so that we can engage in our lives from a place of authenticity and worthiness.  It was a very, enlightening and informative video. I posted the video below, it’s only 20 minutes long, so I encourage you to watch it. In case you don’t, here are a few of the highlights from the talk:

  • We live in a vulnerable world where we fear being vulnerable.
  • We try to mask vulnerability.
  • You cannot selectively numb emotions.
  • We try to perfect ourselves
  • We pretend that what we do doesn’t have an effect on other people.
  • We are scared to let ourselves really be seen by others.
  • We fear loving with our whole heart.
  • We have to believe the we are enough.

After the video was over, Dr. B asked we what makes me feel vulnerable.  I told him that I feel most vulnerable when I have to ask him or anyone for help.  I don’t like asking people for help, it makes me feel incompetent, weak.  Being single all those years, I became proud of taking care of everything by myself, not having to ask anyone for help.  At times it has been an internal struggle for me to embrace the fact that now that I am married I don’t have to do everything, or even know how to do everything.  We are team and we can work together to get things done.

My question to you is how do you define vulnerability, and what makes you feel vulnerable?

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 Responses to “What Makes You Feel Vulnerable?”

  1. Bernard December 27, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    We all have areas in our life where we feel vulnerable. I shared mine with my wife. Just the act of sharing what makes me vulnerable made me feel vulnerable. How screwed up is that? I really try to love my wife with my whole heart. I put myself out there everyday because I love her deeply. I know that I may get hurt but thats ok. Its time to trust, love, then trust again. 🙂 Good luck everybody!

  2. Tiffany In Houston December 28, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Much like you, Natasha it is hard for me to ask people for help. It comes from being a single woman for so long and having to do EVERYTHING yourself, not because you wanted to but because you had to. I’m a work in progress. Even now, something I will just do something to get it done, rather than ask my husband to help me.

    • Newlyweds Guide Francesca December 28, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

      You make an excellent point about being a team and being able to ask for help and work together. I find it hard to ask for help, too, and marriage means built-in help. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. http://wheretoshopmilan.com May 19, 2013 at 5:21 am #

    You need to take part in a contest for one of the finest blogs on the internet.
    I’m going to highly recommend this web site!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Key Strategies for Rapid Personal Improvement – Bernard @ Work - December 19, 2012

    […] enough or rich enough.  Now I recognize that I AM ENOUGH.  My darling wife posted a great article on vulnerability.  It deals with this topic and is definitely worth reading.  Do you ever tell yourself that you […]

Leave a Reply

