Who Knew? Caring for Nonstick Pans the Right Way

22 Dec

I am the worst when it comes to taking care of our nonstick pans.  I have an attitude that because they cost the most, they need the least care.  Honestly Dr. B is better than I am when it comes to cleaning and caring for our nonstick pans….I really can care less.  I pretty much just stick them in the dishwasher and press clean. I knew I was negligent, I just didn’t realize just how horribly negligent I was until I read the NY Times article, How Not to Wreck a Nonstick Pan.

You can read the entire article, but here are the highlights:

  • Preseason the pan first (I thought you only preseason woks).  According to the article you should was and rinse the pan, then rub it with a paper towel saturated with oil.
  • Don’t put them in the dishwasher.  The high heat and detergents will ruin the coating….oops 😦
  • Run a teaspoon of butter or oil on the cold pan every time you use it. (I use the pour and slosh around method, which the author says is a no no).
  • Avoid using nonstick sprays.  The soy lecithin in the spray can build up and become sticky and pasty.
  • Use lower temperatures when cooking.  High heat can cause the coating to crack.
  • Don’t use sharp or metal object to turn food, as this will pierce the coating (this is the one tip I did know).

Who new, nonstick cookware needed so much care.  Any other good tips out there for caring for cookware?  BTW, what’s a dutch oven I saw one and I think I should be using one, but I’m not sure how to use it 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
One Response to “Who Knew? Caring for Nonstick Pans the Right Way”

  1. Cindy December 22, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Dutch ovens are fantastic for braising and slow cooking, making things like paella, etc. I love them because they can go from the stove top to the oven.

    I have two LeCrueset ovens and I covet them above anything else in my kitchen.

Leave a Reply

