Confessions of an Ex-Grocery Store Snob

8 Dec

Example of an American grocery store aisle.

Image via Wikipedia

When Dr. B and I started living together we would spend tons of money on groceries.  It’s not that we ate a lot, it was the fact that we were grocery store snobs, meaning we would only shopped at Publix…for everything.  Cleaning supplies, toilet tissue, vegetables, over the counter medicine – everything!  We would pay $125 and leave the store with 2 or 3 bags, WTH!

It dawned on me one day, we can’t continue to shop as if we were still single.  When I was single I would run Publix and buy what I needed for day, because it was convenient and because I didn’t plan ahead.  In addition,  our diet consisted of lean meats, vegetables, whole grains, and very few processed foods.  Why buy from “luxury” grocery stores when we didn’t need to? Something had to give.

A year and a half later, I only buy groceries from two discount grocery stores, Bravo Supermarket and Save-A-Lot.   I don’t go anywhere near Publix.  Bravo caters to the Hispanic population, but let me tell you, they have THE BEST prices on meat.  I really love Save-a-Lot, especially after I found out that all of the vegetables are grown by local farmers, and their prices on basics such a eggs and vegetables are rock bottom.  I had to train Dr. B to only shop at these stores which was actually easy after he ran up to Bravo one day. He was hooked after he saw the selection and prices of their meats  (the man is a carnivore).

Needless to say we cut our grocery budget in half, which has freed up more money to put into savings (cha-ching).  I’m the CFO and I’ve been working hard towards becoming more money wise and budget conscious.  Reducing our grocery expenses is a step in the right direction for us.

So, don’t come to our house looking for a name brand.   There is no shame to my game.   If Bravo or Save-A-Lot doesn’t have it…then we don’t buy it.  But, the best part is we don’t miss it 🙂

Now, my clothes and shoe budget… that’s another story 🙂

How do you reduce expenses and save money?  I’d love to hear some tips and tricks.

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 Responses to “Confessions of an Ex-Grocery Store Snob”

  1. Cindy December 8, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    I do most of our shopping at our wholesale club, and use the grocery store for things like bread and day-to-day sort of things.

    I even bought water conditioning salts there!

    Our grocery bill is about $400/month when it used to be close to $600!

    • Newlyweds Guide Francesca December 8, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

      Kudos! This was a great move because grocery prices are about to go up yet again. Ugh!

      • Natasha Williams December 8, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

        It’s already ridiculously expensive to eat healthy… 😦

    • Natasha Williams December 8, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

      $600..Woah! That’s a $200 savings 🙂

  2. Happy Nappy Bride December 10, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    I totally agree…and I was the same. Before we got married, I was Whole Foods all the way! But now that we’ve got to save and replenish our accounts, that just doesn’t make sense anymore.

    Much to my chagrin, I’ve traded down…but it’s turned out just fine. I use coupons, a shoppers card (that will send out coupons quarterly), and we also have a Hispanic grocery with amazing prices on meat…I think it’s because they have an onsite butcher.

    Anyhoo, this is the quickest (not necessarily easiest) way to cut the budget…and it works!

    • Natasha Williams December 10, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

      so, true it was the quickest way for us to cut our budget too. In addition to Dr. B taking a lunch to work every day instead of eating out. That saves us $50 to $75 a week!

  3. MrsTDJ December 17, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    I’m obsessed with coupons. Especially using them at BJ’s wholesale club because they accept multiple coupons on bulk packaged items.

    • Natasha Baker December 17, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

      I love coupons too! I read an article that said to use coupons only when the item is on sale, then its really a bargin.

Leave a Reply

