Lessons Learned From My First Thanksgiving as a Wife

29 Nov

Dr. B frying the turkey

I survived my first Thanksgiving as Mrs. Williams 🙂  Seriously, I had a great, stress-free Thanksgiving with no major shenanigans to report.  But I did takeaway a few lessons, that I will heed for years to come:

1. Let the men cook the meat 🙂  For whatever reason cooking a turkey, ham, or steak amounts to bragging rights for men.  And for that, I say, have t it.  Fry it, bake, broil it, grill it -I don’t care.  That’s one less item I have to prepare.

2. Plan a menu first, then let everyone pick and choose what they want to bring from that menu.  If not, you will end up with more green bean casseroles that you can count, or worse than that….not enough meat.  This worked out perfectly for my family.  We had leftovers of course, but just enough for everyone to take a plate home.

3. Have alcohol on hand.  Yes, I said it – alcohol. A few bottles of wine or champagne, will put everyone is a cheerful mood, thus avoiding any heated “discussions.”  Plus it’s always fun to hear your uncle’s stories after he has had a couple of glasses of wine  🙂

4. In an effort to avoid awkward silences, advise your in-laws of your Christmas plans, before Thanksgiving…especially if your plans do not include them.

5. Make sure your feeling are encased in iron, especially if you make dinner rolls and they don’t rise.  My rolls came out flat like cookies, so my brother-in-laws affectionately named them cookie biscuits. LOL!  Everyone is fair game in our family, if you cook something and it doesn’t turn out right, they will let you everyone know!

6.  The Monday after Thanksgiving…make it a Meatless Monday, you digestive system will thank you.  I’m cooking vegetarian black bean burgers for dinner tonight, they’re my favorite vegetarian dish (unfortunately for my carnivore husband).

How was your Thanksgiving?  What lessons did you learn?

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 Responses to “Lessons Learned From My First Thanksgiving as a Wife”

  1. Bernard November 29, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    Meatless Monday! Yay!!!

    • Natasha Williams November 29, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      Lol! You will probably stop at Popeyes chicken on the way home…you are not fooling me!

  2. NancyB November 30, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    Great advice! Especially #2 and #6 🙂 You guys coulda had two turkeys – a smoked and a deep fried!

    • Natasha Williams November 30, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

      Oh, no lol! One turkey was enough, there were only 10 of us. Dr. B. thought about smoking the turkey, lord knows he smokes everything elese. 😉

  3. Happy Nappy Bride November 30, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    That’s really good! And I agree on the alcohol. My mom tried to act “new”…puttin’ on airs for visitors. But I know where the stash is and things got a lot more fun after that, lol!

    • Natasha December 1, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

      I’ve only seen my inkaws drink once…actually they didnt drink but the pulled out s bottle of champagne when my husband to them we were getting married. With that bring said I made sure to take a few bottles of wine. On the other hand when my mom hosts Christmas…it’s a different story eventhough she doesn’t drink. Lol!

  4. Newlyweds Guide Francesca December 1, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    This was a great post – and so true. Leave it to family to tell you just how flat those biscuits were. I’ve been there. It happens to the best of us. We just should be thankful that we have a home in which to make the biscuits, the money to afford them, and the family to make fun of us. 🙂 Glad to hear you had such a successful first Thanksgiving. My turkey didn’t come out so great this year. It was a bit tough. I’m going with a fresh (not frozen) turkey next year, and I’ll pick a smaller one, which might have meat that’s less tough. Those are my lessons learned.

    • Natasha December 1, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

      Let, you husband cook the turkey next year. I’m sure he will act like you need to know physics to cook a turkey right. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in review « Natasha the Newlywed - January 2, 2011

    […] Lessons Learned From My First Thanksgiving as a Wife November 2010 8 comments […]

Leave a Reply

