It’s a Crockpot Monday

22 Nov

It’s one of Those Mondays for me. 😦  I had a fantastic weekend at the classic.  The RV was fantastic, and the jello shots were a hit ( I made 100 freaking jello shots)!  But, today…uuugh, today I am not in the mood for much of anything.

My day started out, by attending the funeral of our good friend’s (who is also one of my husband’s employees) grandmother with Dr. B.  She was Puerto Rican and the service was held at a catholic church.  It was my first time attending any type of service in a catholic Puerto Rican service.  The looks of gratitude that we received for being there, was especially touching.  The entire service was spoken in Spanish (of which my vocabulary is limited) so, every time we bowed our heads in prayer, I used the opportunity to thank God for life, love, family, and friends.

Now, I working on my final paper for my Complex Systems course which ends this week.  I feel like I’ve been working on this things for years, but its only been a few months.  I’m just so ready to be done.  My original plan was to have it completed by last week, so I wouldn’t have to race to finish it right before Thanksgiving…so much for plans.  Luckily I have a high A in the class, so if I don’t knock this paper out the park, I will still do good in the class.  I know it’s not the best attitude to have as a PhD student, but… oh well.

Oh yeah, Thanksgiving.  I have yet to go to the grocery store and buy all of the ingredients for what I’m cooking.  I’m just glad were not hosting Turkey day at our house. Everyone is cooking at home then taking everything down to my in-laws house.  I’m still woefully unprepared at this point.  But, I am looking forward to spending time with Dr. B’s side of the family.

Whoever invented the crock pot – THANK YOU! 🙂   Crock pots were invented for Mondays like I am having today.  Those types of Monday’s where I’m in no mood to stand in front of the stove and cook.  Monday’s are very stressful, and hectic for Dr. B (he went to work after the funeral), so I love for him to come how to a nice meal.  Being that I don’t do takeout or anything like that, I turned to my trusty crock pot for help.  A few months ago I found a great recipe on Allrecipes.com for (I have been using that website since 2006), pollo (chicken) fricassee from Puerto Rico.  The main ingredient in the dish is Sofrito, which consists of garlic, onion, and tomatoes cooked in olive oil, and is used as the base for many dishes.   I figure it was a fitting tribute to our friend and his grandmother, plus it is Dr. B’s favorite chicken dish that I make.  As I type work on my paper, the house is filled with wonderful smells of pollo fricassee from Puerto Rico!  Here is a link to the recipe if you interested. I follow one of the readers comments and added beer and white wine to the sauce, it’s delicious!

My pollo fricassee coming along nicely!

How is your Monday shaping up…what’s for dinner?

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 Responses to “It’s a Crockpot Monday”

  1. Cindy November 22, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    I L-O-V-E the crock pot. Seriously. Can’t live without it, especially when life gets busy!

    I also love that Matt made dinner tonight! It was so simple but the fact that I came home and the table was set and it was ready to go? Bliss!

    • Natasha Williams November 23, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

      Crock pots are the bomb! LOL!
      I’m loving me some Matt right now, he is the man!

  2. MrsTDJ November 24, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    I don’t know how I survived without my crockpot. I use it at least 3 times a week. I’ve got a yummy beef barley soup in there right now and I can’t wait to get home!

Leave a Reply

