Newlywed’s Christmas Shopping for Family and Friends

10 Nov

Image via Wikipedia

There are 45 more days until Christmas and I’m already feeling the pressure of buying Christmas Gifts.  Dr. B and I both come from large families, he has four brothers and I have three sisters and one brother, for a total of 8 siblings that we have to buy presents for.  Not to mention parents, nieces, nephews and cousins. 😦  This is our first Christmas as a married couple, and we want to give everyone something special, without breaking our budget.  Like most newlyweds, were working on building our nest egg, and our emergency savings.

Whatever we decide has to fit into our holiday budget that I setup.  Each week we put money into a savings account solely designated for buying Christmas presents.  I believe this is the only way we will be able to buy “a little something” for everyone on our lists.  And because we are traveling during the holidays (I blogged about that here) , the Xmas present budget is smaller than we would like it – but we figure, it’s better than nothing.

And, since we are traveling during the holidays, I’m contemplating not buying a Christmas tree.  Last year we brought a live tree.  This year I think it might be a waste of money since we won’t be here, and were not hosting either Thanksgiving or Christmas at our house…..So, the tree is probably out.  I’ll  see how Dr. B feels about it.

Oh, and one last thing…Dr. B’s Christmas gift.  I told him the other day that he didn’t have to buy me a gift.  As I mentioned above were going to be traveling a lot during the holidays, and that is gift enough for me.  But, knowing him..he will still buy me a little something.  So, I’m going to buy him a little something too 😉

Are you and your husband (or significant other) exchanging gifts this Christmas?  How do you going to handle buying gifts for your families?  I need a few suggestions for inexpensive gifts for our siblings, any ideas?

Enhanced by Zemanta
14 Responses to “Newlywed’s Christmas Shopping for Family and Friends”

  1. Tiffany In Houston November 10, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    We decided to buy gifts for parents and children only. He has 2 nephews and a niece and I have a niece and nephew.

    If you are grown then you aren’t getting a gift. You will be getting a marry Christmas.

    My mom said married folks get a joint gift. LOL!!!

    • Natasha Williams November 10, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

      Huum… Parents and kids only….that’s a good idea! But, one of his brothers has 8 kids including 2 pairs of twins. If I buy for all those kids I might as well buy, all of our folks a gift. LOL!

      • Tiffany In Houston November 11, 2010 at 10:21 am #

        @Natasha: That is a rather large family! In that case, you might want to give one larger gift for all the kids. Maybe a bunch of DVDs that they all can watch or a couple of Wii games that can all play. I hope that they don’t hope a family of of 3 is going to buy each child an individual gift because that can get very expensive. My mom’s brother had 6 kids and she always bought a group gift. They never got us anything, but that’s another story. LLOL!!!

  2. Alisa Mickens November 11, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    Hi Natasha,

    I know I can speak for Atwell when I say that he really appreciates your thoughtfulness but he is not expecting a Christmas gift from you and his brother.

    We both are looking forward to seeing you, B-nard, and the family at our wedding in March!

    Happy Holidays!

    Alisa

    • Natasha November 11, 2010 at 10:20 am #

      Alisa,
      Im sure none of our siblings are expecting a gift, but we as a couple want to give them something to show how much we love and appreciate them.

      It’s going to be nice seeing everyone at your wedding!

  3. Nerd Girl November 11, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I want to do parents and nieces/nephews only. My husband does not. We’re still at an impasse. Hopefully I will win 🙂

    • Natasha November 11, 2010 at 10:22 am #

      I’m sure you will get your way 😉

  4. Top Ten Christmas Gifts November 14, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    Wow.! good article. I like it. That is a good ideas.

  5. 7DailyDeal November 21, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    Great site, nice article.

  6. Mollee December 20, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

    It doesn’t have to be a huge deal for those of us with tiny budgets… just something that shows you care. I got a movie my hubs has been hinting at, the new season of our favorite tv show, and a particular sports water bottle he wants. A total of about $60.

    • Mollee December 20, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

      We did $25 budgets for his siblings, and my family drew names. Parent’s budget was a little wishy-washy, as they diiiid kind of gift us a wedding this year. lol.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Odds And Ends: Thursday Is My Friday Edition « A (formerly) unemployed bride becomes a wife… - November 11, 2010

    […] newlywed blogger friend Natasha has a dilemna. How do newlywed Christmas shop for family and friends? Who do you buy for or not buy for?? And in […]

  2. Holiday Shopping Special with Nuvo Hotel Suites | Nuvo Hotel Suites' Blog - November 12, 2010

    […] Newlywed’s Christmas Shopping for Family and Friends (natashawilliams.wordpress.com) […]

  3. 2010 in review « Natasha the Newlywed - January 2, 2011

    […] The busiest day of the year was November 11th with 67 views. The most popular post that day was Newlywed’s Christmas Shopping for Family and Friends. […]

Leave a Reply

