Changing of the Guard: Managing our Marriage Finances

4 Nov

Today is the day I officially I begin my job as household Money Czar.  Up until today Dr. B has handled all of our finances, from the budgeting to the bill paying, but today I will take on all financial tasks, including saving and investing for our future.  From the beginning of our relationship Dr. B always said this is “our” money, and I was the one that could not conceptualize the idea since I did not work and bring home a paycheck every two weeks.

At the beginning of the year he even asked me to handle the finances and I balked at the idea. Granted, I always had a say in our money matters.  I just didn’t have, neither did I want to, physically be the one responsible.  Plus, I had the chauvinistic attitude that men handled money better than women (go figure).  Not to say I didn’t know where every single cent went, or that I didn’t have complete access to all of our account… Since then, we have gotten engaged, married, and “settled” into married life.  Over the the months my confidence in my money abilities have increased (as I have become quite the bargain shopper), so I asked Dr. B if the offer still stood, and he enthusiastically said “yes.”  So all this week I’ve been working our budget spreadsheets, organizing our bank accounts, pouring over monthly statements, and researching  various retirement strategies…and I love it!  The other day, Dr. B said he was actually excited, because he knew the I would do such a great job with our finances. 🙂  It is a great feeling to have a husband who totally trusts your judgment.  In addition I believe it has brought us closer as a couple, what can be more personal, intimate, and humbling than money?

My husband really, really, wants to buy an RV next year so that we can travel to all the University of Florida football games and we can, as he says “tailgate in style.”  I have a strong desire to make that dream a reality for him.  He doesn’t ask for much, but darn sure deserves it and much, much more.  I going to work overtime as the money czar to get him that RV.

Many people look at our marriage and wonder why a thirty-something, woman, with no kids, working on her PhD would want to be a stay-at-home wife.  I am a traditional, but far from old-fashioned.  My husband is the head of the household…but I control the purse strings 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Responses to “Changing of the Guard: Managing our Marriage Finances”

  1. Tiffany In Houston November 10, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    I am CFO, we decided that long before the wedding. I pay all the bills and give him a weekly allotment, LOL!!

    I am also quickly seeing that we need a budget so I will be looking into some sort of budgeting software or template in the near future.

    • Natasha Williams November 10, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

      For our budget use a spreadsheet template that Bernard created. We both use Gmail and Google docs so, we uploaded the spreadsheet to Google docs so that we both have access to it simultaneously. It’s simple, but I like it. On the spreadsheet I input a line for both of us…allowance 🙂

Leave a Reply

