In search of a Stress-Free Christmas

10 Sep

I love my peoples, but my peoples coupled with the holiday’s equals stress.

Last year Dr. B and I zig-zagged between my mom and his parents during the holidays.  It was nice to be with family, but it was also exhausting.  Oddly

Dr. B showing off his Xmas gifts last year 🙂

enough we weren’t even married.  We decided that we wanted a stress-free holiday. No trauma, drama, or dilemma. So, were planning on going to Los Angeles during Christmas.  I’ve never traveled to California, mush less LA, so I’m definitely excited about this trip!  *yep, yep* Just me and my husband!  We plan on sightseeing, going to Disney Land, and just having fun.

I know there are going to be haters, family members that think were being selfish, but, so. what.  🙂  We hosted Christmas dinner last year, and it was just uugh overwhelming and stressful at times.

It may seem a bit early to be thinking about Christmas, but, were in the process of booking the hotel and flight, so thought I would share my feelings and ask your opinion.

How do you feel about vacationing (away from family) during Christmas, or Thanksgiving, have you done so before?

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 Responses to “In search of a Stress-Free Christmas”

  1. Cindy September 10, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    I feel fantastic about it. Matt and I have often talked of running off to an all-inclusive for a few days. In fact, this year I took the holiday week off so we have the option if we want it!

    Families get upset, they also get over it.

    • natashawilliams September 13, 2010 at 10:29 am #

      That would be just awesome. Those all inclusive resorts are so romantic!

  2. Happy Nappy Bride September 12, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    You’ll be like that movie Four Christmases…have you seen it? Too funny! They try to get away from being with their fams for the holidays, but get busted.

    Anyhoo, I love my fam and I want to be there with them, but trying to do both fams is just too much…we’re gonna have to figure all of this out.

    • natashawilliams September 13, 2010 at 10:28 am #

      I have never had a chance to see that movie, I head it was really funny! I feel you, I love my family too, it’s I want to spend Christmas this year away with my hubby. We still plan spending Thanksgiving with our families.

  3. Tiffany In Houston September 13, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    I really lucked out. Both of our families are 10 minutes from each other so we will probably split the day. But we are definitely doing an end of the year trip right after Christmas..I cannot wait!

    • natashawilliams September 13, 2010 at 10:30 am #

      You and Myron are going to have a whirlwind end of the year, with the wedding then the holidays right after! Your going to need a nice vacation.

  4. Nerd Girl September 29, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    I love spending holidays with my family. We’re spread out all over the country so I really look forward to seeing them when I can.

    I just booked plane tickets home to Cali for Christmas – can’t wait!

    We are in the same state as his people, so no one bats an eye when I get to getting for the Christmas holidays.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Newlywed’s Christmas Shopping for Family and Friends « Natasha the Newlywed - November 10, 2010

    […] for everyone on our lists.  And because we are traveling during the holidays (I blogged about that here) , the Xmas present budget is smaller than we would like it – but we figure, it’s […]

Leave a Reply

