Finding Love Online

18 Aug

Saturday Dr. B and I attended our friend, George’s 40th birthday party! One of the things that stood out to me was that there were four other couples there that had met online: two through Match.com, one through Plenty-o-Fish, and the other through E-Harmony!  It was a tell-tale sign of change – a change brought about by the Internet.   Just 10 years ago, you would have been hard-pressed to find anyone who admitted to using an online dating website.  I believe the stigma of online dating no longer exists, and people now know  a quality relationship can start online.  Of course I’m biased on the subject, being that Dr. B and I met through Match.com, but minus my bias there is still a strong case that can be made for online dating sites.  Industry giant, Match.com, just celebrated it’s 15th year anniversary in April of this year, and just this month e-harmony is celebrating it’s 10 year anniversary.  A recent survey(2009-2010) of online dating trends conducted by Match.com revealed some very interesting facts:

  • 7% of couples married in the last 3 years, or 1 in 6, met each other on an online dating site.
  • In the last year, more than twice as many marriages occurred between people who met on an online dating site than met in bars, at clubs and other social events combined.
  • Approximately twice as many recently married couples met on Match.com than the site that ranked second.
  • 1 out of 5 single people have dated someone they met on an online dating site.
  • 1 out of 5 people in a new committed relationship (including marriage) met their significant other on an online dating site.

I’m very interested to see how the online dating trend continues, and the new directions it will take in the next 10 years.  I believe that as people’s lives continue to move online, through social networks, people will continue to embrace the idea of online dating.

Have you tried online dating and what was your experience.  Do you know any married couples that met online?

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 Responses to “Finding Love Online”

  1. Bernard August 18, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    I am so glad I found you! I believe that the Internet is an enabling technology. Specifically, those people who would be willing to try to meet other people can use the Internet to enable that search. I believe that many of the naysayers are “sour singles” who sit at home on a Friday night and probably discount other methods of meeting people too.

    Way to go honey!

    Love,

    Your biggest fan!

  2. Tiffany In Houston August 19, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    I met Myron on Facebook. Once we started dating we realized our parents attended the same church and we had lots on mutual friends.

    • natashawilliams August 23, 2010 at 10:15 am #

      Oh! I didn’t know that. I remember about a year and a half ago saying, “Why would anyone get on Facebook?” Now I check in almost everyday. I truly has changed the way we meet people and manage our relationships.

  3. Cindy August 22, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Matt and I met through MySpace. He commented on a blog I wrote because he was, as he likes to say, “Trolling,” and I thought he was kind of cute. His profile picture was of him knocking back a jar of applesauce, which I found to be highly amusing.

    We wrote back and forth for almost a month before we finally decided to get together for some drinks, and I really enjoyed that time. We got a chance to know each other without the pressure of having to meet in person, make phone calls, etc. I liked his writing style, it was honest and thoughtful, glitchy and funny, and he used decent grammar.

    When we finally did get together, it was a “t-shirt and jeans drinking beers” kind of meeting. I liked him immediately, and we became friends. I did wait for him to make all the moves. I liked him, A LOT, but I wanted him to come after me, you know? Make it worth it!

    In the beginning, I was a little embarrassed by how we met but people meet in all kinds of ways, why should the internet be any different? I am in love with the perfect partner for me and if I didn’t meet him on MySpace, I would have met him somewhere else.

    • natashawilliams August 23, 2010 at 10:18 am #

      I never did get on MySpace. But, I do know several couples who met on MySpace and got married. I would have loved to see the Matt’s applesauce picture. lol

  4. aroundthewaygirl August 23, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    I’m a matchdotcom bride too! Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

