Keeping My Hubby Healthy: A Wife’s Role

3 Aug

Me and my healthy hubby Dr. B!

My husband has a PhD, hence his nickname Dr. B.  He is one of the smartest people I know, even smarter than me :-).  Just ask him to explain the theory behind time and gravity, and he will give you a 20 min dissertation.  But, last week, I asked him how much water he should to drink a day, as I knew he wasn’t drinking nearly enough.   I was so stunned that he had no idea.  No, not possible, everyone knows that – right?  Uuum…I guess not.  I figured that was common knowledge.  But, I have to remember Dr. B has bigger fish to fry, and remembering the right amount of water to drink is not one of them.  But, it is for me. I believe that it is my responsibility to make sure my husband eats right, exercises, and takes care of his health.

I’m on a quest to keep me any my hubby healthy.  I just found The One, and I’m looking forward to a long life with him…we have sh** to do, places to see, and a condo on the beach to buy *does quick prayer for a condo on the beach*  Not, that Dr. B is completely in left field about eating right, and taking care of himself.  But like most men there is always room for improvement.

This is where I come in.  In my never-ending search for health and nutrition information I found a study that supports my rigorous efforts to take care of Dr. B.  Last year an article in the Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health detailed the research of two Swedish Researchers who found that:

the education of a man’s partner had a stronger effect than his own schooling; men living with a woman without any high school education were 1.25 times more likely to die than men living with a college graduate.

As far as women’s education, Erikson and Torssander note in their report, “women traditionally take more responsibility for the home than men do, and, as a consequence, women’s education might be more important for the family’s lifestyle — for example, in terms of food habits — than men’s education.”

Our home gym!

If I have to say so myself, Dr. B is a lucky man 🙂  Actually he should thank me that I work so diligently to ensure our good health.  No seriously, the health of my husband is very, very important to me.  In 2001 my father died expectantly at the early age of 51.  His death took a toll on me and my family.  I vowed that if I married, I would do everything in my power to keep me and my husband healthy.

More recently, in September 2009 my mother was diagnosed with ovarian cancer.  That was a very frightening time for me, and my siblings.  I did some research, and found that MD Anderson in Houston Texas was one of the best cancer treatment centers in the US.  My mother had her surgery there, and 10 months later she is cancer free.

So you see, I do this for my own selfish reasons.  I fear losing my loved ones.  I want them around for many, many years to come.  I value health and wellness, and it is one of the many ways that I show Dr. B that I love him.

Ok, intelligent wives, what do you do to keep your hubby’s healthy?   I’d love to hear some tips and tricks!


Enhanced by Zemanta
9 Responses to “Keeping My Hubby Healthy: A Wife’s Role”

  1. Cindy August 3, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Water is a big thing on our side, as well. Matt FINALLY gets that.

    As far as healthy eating, I can only keep that in the home, what Matt does when he’s out there on his own I can’t control but I keep junk out of the house and he seems to do just fine with that.

    I drag him to the gym when I can, and we take a lot of walks together when the weather permits.

    Mostly, I think Matt won’t recognize a problem with his health until something bad happens. I guess he’s just that kind of guy but in the meantime, I worry in the same way that you do so I do my best to encourage good eating habits at home, and encourage exercise.

    After all, he has bigger fish to fry (just like Bernard) and I’m more than willing to take on the “healthy habits” end of things.

    Oh, I’ve been praying to St. Joseph about the sale of our home and the purchase of a new, so I’ll add you to my novena. 🙂

    • natashawilliams August 3, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

      For the most part I think Bernard does ok when he is not at home. I pack his lunch every day, so he doesn’t have an excuse there 🙂
      My realtor told me about St. Joseph, I’m seriously considering buying a statue, and burying it in our front yard, or is it the backyard?

  2. Cindy August 3, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    I think the front yard? I didn’t buy a statue, I just started praying.

  3. Cindy August 3, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Oh, and I pack lunches for Matt as best I can but he still goes out and does his own thing regardless. He calls it “doing a double.”

    I can’t win!

  4. Happy Nappy Bride August 3, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    Cooking is pretty important to me, so we eat home-cooked meals 90% of the time. I buy organic, especially meat, try to keep healthy snacks around…but we always have chips here too! I’m starting to learn what meals he likes so that I can make sure there’s things for him that are healthy and that he’ll actually eat.

    • natashawilliams August 4, 2010 at 8:09 am #

      My husband loves, loves, loves chicken, so I’ve taken to trying new recipes. Also, I alternate daily – between chicken and fish.

  5. Newlyweds Guide Francesca August 4, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Staying healthy and getting educated are all important. Husbands and wives who support each other’s health and education will definitely go farther than those who don’t.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oh What A Beautiful Day! « Natasha the Newlywed - August 13, 2010

    […] Mondays, biking, etc) has paid off.  I’m so excited, that he is now in the normal range.  I recently blogged about keeping him healthy, since his high blood pressure has been a worrisome topic for me.  I aim […]

Leave a Reply

