Mid-Year Makeover: SMART Goal Style

14 Jul

Every year around June or July I evaluate where I am, what I’ve

Me last year on a "study" date with Bernard

accomplished, and where I want to by year’s end.  This year it’s a little different (engaged and married within a 6 month time frame) so it’s realistic to say that many of my goals will now include my husband Dr. B.  We comprise a “freshman” family, and it’s time to get serious about moving our family forward in the right direction, and I believe goals are essential to this effort.

I’m one of those people that believes in setting  SMART (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely), and write them down.  I’m a firm believer in SMART goals,  I even taught the concept as a professor in my introduction to business management class.  So, I’m going to use this formula for writing my goals.  I haven’t begun to write them, but I know what areas of my life they will center around:

  • Our house: We put it up for sell a few weeks ago
  • Personal Finances: The wedding and reception depleted our cash savings
  • Health and Fitness: Back to basic nutrition and fitness, creating healthy habits
  • My PhD: scheduling my remaining classes, and evaluating my dissertation topic.

Maintaining Healthy, Happy Marriage: Admittedly this takes work, (I blogged about that last week) and a concerted effort on both of our parts

So I have 5 action items, that I’m going to write SMART goals for over the next week or so. What do you think? Did I forget something?  Do you write personal goals and objective?  I’d love to have your input.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 Responses to “Mid-Year Makeover: SMART Goal Style”

  1. Bernard July 14, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    I am amazed at how each and everyday you remind me of why I fell in love with you in the first place.

    I would only add that by keeping your goal list small you increase the chances of not getting distracted. Your goals should be your priorities. If everything is a priority, then nothing is a priority. Thats why a lot of people never accomplish anything: They are trying to do everything.

    I would also say that people sometimes eschew setting goals out of fear of failure. FEAR or (False Evidence Appearing Real) hamstrings us and robs us of achieving our potential. Setting SMART (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Time bound) goals like Natasha is referring to is a great way to baby step your way to success and ultimately achieve your goals in life. I can say from experience that my wife has truly mastered this skill.

  2. Tiffany In Houston July 14, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    Myron asked the other day what would I do once the wedding is done since I’ve been all consumed with planning.

    We loosely talked about some of the things that we want to get accomplished in the near term and they are similar to yours. We need to get him a reliable car because his is about dead and we are carpooling right now. Next up will be to put some work into my townhouse to get it ready to sell in 2011. I’m trying to wait until next year to have a baby, but won’t be able to wait on that forever.

    • natashawilliams July 15, 2010 at 10:09 am #

      It’s so much to think about when your older than the average bride. Our priorities are different and our timelines are some what shorter.

Leave a Reply

