Name Change “Non-Dilemma”

23 Jun

I'm official!

I am pleased to announce that the Social Security Administration is not a total and complete FAIL to the American people – more specifically American people like me who need to change their name.  Why? well… I am now the proud owner of  a new social security card that reads Natasha Baker Williams (no hyphen, but say my whole name. Like a pimp named Slickback – sorry if you don’t watch The Boondocks you won’t get the joke).  Ok anyway, to clarify what I just wrote…I received my SS card in the mail today.  Yep, it caught me by surprise too (remember Name Change Dilemma Part III?) especially since just I went  to the SS office last Tuesday, and submitted my paperwork for my name change.  To all you non-believers in the Obama Administration – yes I received my card in exactly 7 days – take that G.W. Bush 🙂

Back to being politically correct….So me and Dr. B ran up to the DMV with my new SS card to change my driver’s license.  We waited roughly 1.5 hours. I guess that’s not too bad, that Bernard worked on his laptop the entire time while I was reading about the McChrystal scandal on my CNN iPhone app (despite the no cell phone sign posted (take that SS office).  But, it’s done an I am now officially Natasha Baker Williams… I have to say it was such a memorable experience because Dr. B was very, very excited that I was officially become Mrs. Dr. B…it was too cute for words. I love that man!  Up next is my passport and our bank

My License (a nice pic if I must say so myself)

accounts…I’ll keep you posted.

Married readers who was more excited about the name change  you or your spouse?  I’d love to hear your stories.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Responses to “Name Change “Non-Dilemma””

  1. Tiffany In Houston June 24, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    I’ll be changing my name. He was adamant about that. I didn’t really get in an uproar about it really. I pretty much get whatever else I want so, I can give on this one thing. 🙂

    • natashawilliams June 24, 2010 at 11:00 am #

      Initially I didn’t think twice about changing my name, until I read a few blogs and the brides had hang-ups about losing their identity. Then, Dr. B and I discussed it again, and he said he would support any decision I made, but he would be honored if I took his name – and that sealed the deal for me!

Leave a Reply

