I’m Bernard’s Wife!

17 Jun

The other day I was reading A Practical Wedding (APW), and in Meg’s post she mentioned Cindy a blogger who stated ” I love being a wife”  You can read both of their blogs here and here.  It got me to thinking about the last year of my life.  I’ve been Dr. B’s stay at home girlfriend, then fiance, and now wife, and I’ve loved every minute of it.  I Love being a wife, more specifically I love being Dr. B’s wife.  Not in the television commercial sense of the word (ie kids and a mini van).  But, in the traditional meaning, which is “a female partner in a marriage.”  I can remember thinking (years ago) that once I married I would continue working.  I couldn’t picture myself not working, it seemed like the most natural thing to do.  But, here I am, not working. Being his wife and loving it. 

There are days (since the wedding) that it hits me, I am a WIFE (tears begin to well up).  I’m not (as my sister puts it) boyfriend and girlfriend on steroids.   I love being  Dr. B’s partner.  I  enjoy taking care of our house, and taking care of my husband.  I’m happy, he’s happy and it just works for us.  I’m still independent and strong-willed which (BTW) does not automatically diminish when you become a wife.  In fact they increase.  They increase because you now have someone who has your back, and encourages you to go out and do whatever the h*ll you want to do.  As a wife you have stability and security from your husband, and at a level you’ve never had before.  As a wife you provide security and stability like never before.  Just think about it…how big and significant is that?  I’m so proud of what I do and who I am.  Yes I’m working on my PhD, but that’s nothing, nothing at all compared to being Dr. B’s wife.  Now the next time someone asks me what I do, I’m not going to to say  ” I am Ph.D. student.”  I’m going to say “I’m Bernard’s wife”.

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 Responses to “I’m Bernard’s Wife!”

  1. Bernard June 17, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    There are so many people who attach a stigma to the woman who is proud of being a wife. I am a blessed man to have a woman who doesn’t care what the world says. She dances to the beat of her own drum. I stand taller because I’m with her. She is my wife and I love her.

  2. Tiffany In Houston June 24, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    I love that bottom picture!

  3. Cindy June 28, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    You’re right! That independent and strong-willed feeling does intensify because you have someone standing behind you!

    I’m with you on saying, “I’m [insert name here’s] wife.” I do it all the time!

    “First and foremost, I am Mat’s wife. I also do …”

    It always floors people when I say that, and I love it. Congratulations to you! You two are absolutely beautiful together.

    • natashawilliams June 28, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

      Cindy,
      Thanks for stopping by and for the cograts! It’s been such a liberating and empowering experience declaring myself a wife first and foremost. Even more so since I’m a “quasi feminist” 🙂 Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

