Are We Still Newlyweds?

5 Oct

What time frame constitutes being a newlywed? 1 year, 2 years, 1.5 years?   Dr. B and I have been married for 1 year and 5 months.  Are we till considered newlyweds…or is the honeymoon – over?  For whatever reason I’ve been thinking about how much longer we have before our Newlywed status runs out.  When it does, I will have to change the name of my blog.  Am I late already in that regard?  I’m not one to mislead readers, and hold faux claim to a title that I’m no longer eligible for.   When does one said couple transition from newlywed status to just being – married?

7 Responses to “Are We Still Newlyweds?”

  1. Tiffany In Houston October 7, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Good question. I was asking hubs that this past week. Are we not newlyweds any more? I kinda don’t wanna let it go!

  2. Anonymous October 7, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    You can be forevery newly married if you look forward to every day! The minute you stop impressing or exciting each other then that is when the honeymoon is over:) Happy Newlywed for as long as you want:)

    • Angie October 7, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

      Sorry… did not mean to be anonymous,:) Angie

    • Natasha Williams October 12, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      So people fear ‘routine’ which can lead to complacency…and that’s no fun.

  3. Nikki October 11, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    I agree with Angie. I’ve been married, for 5 years. Those “ol married couples”, wave their hand and insist that I am “still a newlywed”, because we don’t have children. (Really???) Its annoying because what if we don’t want kids, but I digress… I’ll be a forever newlywed on a permenant honeymoon, then.

    Back to the question: I think less than two years is a newlywed :-)

  4. melissashipman October 17, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    I think it can last as long as you want between the two of you. As for what other people think, I’d say 2 years is average. But it’s still a new marriage until after 5 or so? I’m not sure, but I’m also very new to this marriage thing at all. We’re still under the 4 month mark. Heck, we haven’t even made it to a year after he proposed!
    Still, I’ve already though about what I’d call me blog as well, once I do pass that newlywed mark…whenever that is…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

