Stuff, Stuff, and More Stuff!

8 Sep

I’ve basically been MIA for the past two weeks.  That’s what happens when final exams, and a

Gotta keep smiling!

holiday take over your life.  But, I back now…kind of.  I have a few things going on this week, that have me wishing for the weekend already.  For one,  I just started a new class yesterday, Managing Organizational Systems and Complexity, which I’m excited about.  The course centers around systems thinking, which is somewhat of a new topic for me, so it should be interesting. I’m going to have to do tons more writing for this class than I had for my statistics class, which by the way I got an A in :-)

Next up, this Saturday we are having an open house, and I have tons of stuff to do.  Stuff, that I neglected to do last week.  The closer I get to Saturday the more things I find to fix, paint, buy, etc…  We have had our house on the market for 85 days now, and we have dropped the price once already, without much luck.  So, were lowering the price this week before the open house.  I’m at the point where I want to give away a new car as a buyer’s incentive, but I’m not sure if Dr. B would agree to that one *wink wink*

Then there is the matter of Dr. B’s parents.  His mom is 87 and his dad is 85, and both are not in good health.  As I type Dr. B’s father is in the hospital for several issues: deep vein thrombosis, cardio erythema, and kidney cancer.  They did two procedures yesterday, but they are limited in what they can do because of his age and, the overall condition of his health.  If everything goes well he will be with us for another year.  To say the least, it’s been very stressful for my husband.  As his father gets worse, his mother has started showing signs of deteriorating. It pains him to see his parents “wasting” away.  I glad that I am able to be by his side during this time of his life, we can get through this together.  Francesca, at About.com:Newlyweds recently posted a great article Elderly Care for Parents and In-Laws, which I plan to read and discuss with Dr. B.

Lastly on the list is me and my crazy PMS.  I went to my OBGYN last week and we had a great talk about my severe PMS issues.  So he decide to put me on birth control pills, to help level out my hormones.  Mind you, I haven’t taken the pill since college.  Dr. B and I have taken other measures to prevent pregnancy, so that’s not a concern.  As far as the pill goes, I detest the way that it makes me feel, nauseous, light-headed, fat, etc… My doctor swears by this new low-dose pill called Loestrin 24.  You take it for 24 days, then you take four days of placebo.  My doctor says it should decrease my mood swings, wight gain, etc… But, it takes about 3 months to take effect.

My biggest concern is the horrible side effects that other users talk about, such as: panic attacks, breast tenderness, depression, weight, gain, and nightmares *yep! nightmares*  So, I’m very hesitant to start taking this pill. But, I’m also desperate since I’ve tried everything I can think of, but nothing has worked consistently. Damn is you do, damn if you don’t :-)

Enough about me…what’s new in your world???

Enhanced by Zemanta

10 Responses to “Stuff, Stuff, and More Stuff!”

  1. Cindy September 8, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    I feel you on the pill. I get terrible migraines from synthetic hormones so Matt and I use alternative methods as well. We’ve been approved for vasectomy though, so as soon as we are settled and he has some time off from work. SNIP!

    I wish you all the best of luck with the open house. 85 days is a long time to wait and I’m still praying everyday for you everyday!

  2. natashawilliams September 8, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    I’m so against synthetic hormones, but I’m past desperate. Plus, it’s affecting my marriage on a monthly basis, so I’m going to all least try the pill :-(

    Thanks for all your prayers an support, I really, really appreciate them!

  3. Osarieme September 8, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    I did not do well with Loestrin24.I tried another low dose pill that does not give me any problems. I had massive headaches and heavier bleeding with loestrin.Just my two cents.

    Osarieme

  4. natashawilliams September 8, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Oh,really? What pill was that? I’m always open for suggestions.

    • Osarieme September 8, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

      Low-Ogestrel28 which is also Lo-Ovral. I guess the 24 day cycle did not work well with my body. I’ve always been an average of 28 days even before the pill. Good luck with your research and kuddos for asking questions/developing that relationship at the doctor’s office.

      • Natasha Baker September 8, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

        Great! Thanks for the info.

  5. Tiffany In Houston September 9, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    Let’s see. I haven’t been on the pill in years. I used to Depo and I gained a lot of weight. I’m surprised I’m not preggo now.

    In other news, I have been working like a slave, and still wrapping up this wedding. I’ve done the food tasting, gotten jewelry, shoes, paid off the cake lady and photogragher. Come by and take a look.

  6. Chan in Jax September 13, 2010 at 1:54 am #

    Hey Tasha!

    Have you tried an IUD? One of the reasons I always had such a hard time carrying full-term is because my blood clots really bad during pregancy — something called antiphospholipid syndrome??? Anyway, after finally having my son, my docs wouldn’t prescribe bc pills for me anymore because they actually increase clotting. I ended up having to get an IUD, but it’s good for five years and then you have it removed. I haven’t had any problems with it. Good luck with the open house. :)

    • natashawilliams September 13, 2010 at 10:26 am #

      Thanks! The open house went really, really, well. We hope to have a buyer soon. I’m not sure the IUD will help with my PMS since it does not contain any hormones, which is what I need – a steady dose of hormones to even out the fluctuations I am experiencing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello Monday « Natasha the Newlywed - October 18, 2010

    [...] works, I mean it really works.  I had about 10% of the moodiness that I normally experience when I have PMS.  Really only freaking 10%, meaning I only had one minor emotional issue, and practically NO water [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

